Tour Inception!

Standard

This past July, I had the pleasure of becoming a Melbourne tour guide for two groups of friends that came to visit us. Within those two Melbourne tours (a la yours truly), we joined several other group tours as well! Tour Inception!!!!

It’s a general rule in the tour guide handbook that when you have friends over, you have to bring them into the city to see all the magic this metropolis has to offer. From walking through all the laneways and arcades to seeing the fairy penguins (within stealing distance) at St. Kilda, I was happy to be able to find enough things to do here for my friends and not be bored! My favourite part of the Eric Tours, and my friends can attest to this, is all the food and sweet treats that go with sightseeing. I’ve been here long enough to confidently say that I know a few good places to go eat. ESPECIALLY for sweet treats. I’ll have to leave that for another blog entry because for this entry, I want to talk about two awesome tours Doran and I did with our friends when they came over.

 

The Great Ocean Road Tour

SONY DSC

The beginning of the Great Ocean Road.

I’m a great tour guide. I got great reviews from my customers (read: friends), but our tour guide on this Great Ocean Road Day Tour got me beat. With well-curated music to go along with his educational banter, we were treated to stories about the great ocean road including: love stories, UFO sightings and shipwrecks!

SONY DSC

An obligatory shot of a Koala because every tour in Australia will (and should always) include one.

Once we arrived at the 12 Apostles, the main attraction on the Great Ocean Road, Doran and I decided to partake in a little helicopter ride to see all seven of them. Yes, there are only seven left because of erosion, so see them while they are still here!

SONY DSCSONY DSC

 

I would tell you more about these natural structures, but it seemed to me that the pilot forgot to plug in his mic or turn up the volume because while I enjoyed the view, I was also forced to lip read during the 10 min flight. Needless to say, I learned nothing.

The views were amazing here at the 12 Apostles, so here are a few pictures.

SONY DSC

Yes I took this picture.

 

SONY DSC

Amazing eh?

 

SONY DSC

And where would a tour be without a flood of Asians to get in your way…

 

The Great Barrier Reef

The highly anticipated attraction on my personal bucket list has finally been fulfilled!!! I have waited almost an entire year to see this natural wonder and I was not disappointed.

We joined up with our friends in Cairns to do zip lining in the Daintree Rainforest and snorkeling at the Great Barrier Reefs, about 1.5 hours out from Cairns for both.

P1020890 P1020883

 

 

 

 

 

We only got to two reefs, but I saw a lot of colorful fish and several sea turtles! Michaelmas Cay and Hastings Reef showed me what it was like to live under the sea. Why would you want to leave all of this for a land dweller? Listen to Sebastian, listen to your father, Ariel.

Doran

Doran

 

P1020895

Eric

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The waters were getting choppy by the end of the tour and I guess it’s a normal thing for seasoned boat riders, but coming back to shore was rough. All I can say is that I was glad to be back on land.

 

 

Boat crash with people thrown back and forth

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

