Italy – Part 1: Taking the Long Way

Standard

This past June, I took my first ever three week vacation and it was an amazing adventure around the world!

My first stop circling the world was Canada to attend a friend’s wedding and visit the family. It’s always nice to go back home and see that absolutely nothing has changed since the last time I returned. This trip was especially fun since I was able to convince my parents to go do an escape room with my brother and I. Lucky for us, Escape Hour has the option to get as many hints as required since I felt we probably would be needing hints. Little did I know, we would be asking for hints for EVERY SINGLE PUZZLE. It was comical. However, with all the help one could possibly ever receive, my family “escaped” with just a minute to spare.

IMG_20170611_211933

We did it! (Sort of…)

After a week in Calgary, I whisked off to Toronto, giving my cousins the usual 48-hour notice that they’re so fond of. Many heartfelt thanks to Kitty and Mike for hosting me on such short notice and allowing me to have so many Canadian favourites: Costco poutine, Swiss Chalet, Timbits and HK style milk tea (Australia, you still need to get it together on HK style milk tea!!! COME ON!)

Then it was off to ITALY! I flew straight from Toronto to Venice where I met up with Doran. It only took a cruisy 9 hours for me, while Doran flew to Venice through Dubai from Melbourne on a crazy 24 hour journey. Poor thing. Once we found each other, we started our crazy Italian adventure. And what a city Venice is to start our trip with!

IMG_20170618_200429

This historic city’s main mode of transportation was via boats; especially on the islands of Venice, so we hopped on a vaporetto and headed straight to our first Airbnb of the trip.

IMG_20170620_095816

It’s an apartment in the centre of the island right above shops selling tourist junk! Amazing!

 

 

 

Here are some of the most memorable things for us in Venice:

  • This place is so picturesque, you could probably sell postcards with the pictures we took.
  • Our favourite dishes from the ENTIRE trip was surprising at this chain called Rossopomodoro
  • We had a really fun Doge’s Palace super secret tour where we got to go through some of the secret passages and prison cells this palace had. Even learned about how Casanova “Casanova-ed” his escape from this very place!
IMG_20170619_103146

Spoiler alert. The secret door is in the corner.

IMG_20170619_090608

We both really liked Venice and would absolutely recommend seeing it.

After Venice we headed off to Milan on Italy’s high speed train; a Fecciarossa. But before arriving in Milan, we decided to spend the afternoon at one of the top 10 amusement parks in the world: Gardaland.

Part 2… Italy – Part 2: I Don’t Want Your Friendship Bracelets

3 thoughts on “Italy – Part 1: Taking the Long Way

Leave a Reply

